Tags

, , , , , ,

I think the thing I love most about what I do for a living is the variety, from day to day and week to week. It’s often the same sorts of things: performing, teaching, practicing, preparing for what’s coming up next. But sometimes the variety of it all is pretty incredible. Take this past week for example. There was a considerable amount of performing, teaching, practicing, and preparing for what’s coming up next, but the specifics of where, what, and with whom is what made this past week an extraordinary week.
1800287_10152157917769194_1912339887_n
It all began with John Williams, a folder full of his movie scores, and the fabulous Pacific Symphony. Let me tell you, it was more than a career highlight, it was a life highlight. John Williams, ladies and gentleman! One of my friends in the orchestra put it perfectly, “It’s like listening to the soundtrack of our youth.” All those amazing scores, filled with beautiful, lush melodies that we all know, and crazy hard technical passages that I spent every waking hour working on in my practice. It was right up there with some of the most difficult orchestral music I’ve ever played. That’s not to say I’ve never played his music before. I have. Many times, in fact. But it was as if it was the first time because the master was on the podium showing us his way. I can say with certainty that I’ve never played for a more kind, generous, thoughtful, humble, brilliant musician. I realize many of my colleagues have had the opportunity to work with Mr. Williams many times. This was my first time, and hopefully not the last. Thank you, Mr. Williams, for inspiring me, making me a better player, and leaving me with unforgettable memories from two days of extraordinary music making.

Also on the docket last week:
* A Body Mapping presentation for the Los Angeles Flute Guild’s Flute Festival. 1012282_669440803121421_1524183474_n

* The Gaubert A Major Sonata (A personal favorite!), to be performed at the LAFG Flute Fest’s Gala Recital. 1900632_10151867584761526_263437238_o

* Our annual Faculty Chamber Music Concert at the Bob Cole Conservatory at CSULB, which I organized.

* The Roussel Trio and CPE Bach E Major Trio Sonata, both to be performed at the above chamber music concert.

-photo credit Carolyn Bremer

-photo credit Carolyn Bremer

1913217_10152216528621138_1599529222_o* The usual week of teaching my wonderful students 🙂
* A last minute, very necessary flute repair. (Thanks, Paul!)
* More than the average wizardry with scheduling for incoming work for the next several months. (Gotta keep all the plates spinning, after all!)
* Some very fun social engagements with out of town flute friends (Seriously, the number of fabulous flutists visiting from out of town this past weekend was uncanny!)

It was a very full and awesome week, doing what I do every week but with a little variation on a theme, if you will. There was a whole lot of performing and teaching, a ton of practicing, and more than the usual, essential preparation for what’s up next. But, I gotta say, the John Williams factor definitely took it up to another level.

So what’s next for me? Well, more performing, teaching, practicing, and preparation, of course. Right now, however, it’s all about enjoying a brief moment of down time between things, watching the Olympics and finding even more inspiration from these unbelievable athletes, and feeling really grateful that I get to do what I love to do, everyday!
1658439_10152572722966521_1599225372_o

